Intento de fraude a los titulares de nombres de dominio
Estos días junto con el SPAM, los casos de «phishing» tristemente habituales, se están enviando e-mails en nombre de empresas de registro de nombres de dominio como Enom o Networksolutions en el que se informa que el dominio va a caducar o cualquier otro tipo de información que hace que se acuda rápidamente a la dirección que nos indican. Estos correos son del estilo:
Dear Network Solutions Customer,
We recently notified you that the registration period for your Network Solutions domain name had expired. As a benefit of having previously registered a domain name(s) with Network Solutions, you are eligible to receive a percentage of the net proceeds that were generated from the renewal and transfer of the domain name you chose not to renew. Since you have chosen not to renew the domain name listed below during the applicable grace period, we were successful in securing a backorder for this domain name on your behalf and it has been transferred to another party in accordance with the Service Agreement.
Renew your domain now - http://www.networksolutions.com
You must click on the following link, enter your domain name, and confirm your contact information in order to claim these funds. If your contact information is not correct, you must enter Account Manager and make the appropriate changes prior to clicking «submit» from the confirmation screen. If you do not do this, you will be confirming inaccurate information and will not receive any payment. Checks will only be made payable and mailed to the Account Holder of record.
Sincerely,
Sí, pinchamos en la URL indicada, la misma nos redirige a una dirección que se parece pero que no es la de Ntworksolutions (en este caso de fraude), en el mejor de los casos el propio navegador nos avisará que nos encontramos ante una página peligrosa. Si nos fijamos en la URL veremos que:

¡Exacto! realmente es un .mobi, que si bien es idéntica a la página original, no es la web de la empresa que dice ser:

Por ello, siempre las recomendaciones en este caso son las mismas que para el phishing, fijarse bien, y no introducir nunca los usuarios y las contraseñas que nos solicitan desde correos electrónicos, a no ser que estemos muy seguros que realmente son quienes dicen ser.

4 comments
#1. Pablo F Burgueño, 2 months and 7 days ago
Me han llegado varios e-mails de esos directamente a la bandeja de entrada. La verdad es que sí desconciertan un poco, pero al ver la URL se descubre el fraude. En mi caso, la URL sobre la que me pedían pinchar contenía, además, un código único de identificación de e-mail con lo que, de haber pulsado, mi dirección de correo electrónico habría pasado a estar en su lista de direcciones válidas. Por eso, siempre recomiendo copiar el enlace, pegarlo en el navegador (o en un editor de texto) y comprobar la composición de la URL antes de dirigirte a la página. Sin duda, una labor sencilla para los que nos dedicamos a esto, pero bastante rebuscada y compleja para el resto de los mortales
#2. Jorge Campanillas Ciaurriz, 2 months and 7 days ago
¡¡¡Muchas gracias Pablo por el comentario y el aviso!!!
Desde luego cada día tenemos que tener el ojo avizor para todo
#3. Miguel A. Mata, 2 months and 5 days ago
Buenos días Jorge,
para la información a los lectores, a continuación un mail que recibí de NS esta mañana al respecto:
«Dear Valued Network Solutions(R) Customer:
We've recently become aware of a phishing scam targeting domain name customers of a small number of registrars including Network Solutions(R). We wanted to alert you of this situation. Phishing is the practice of luring unsuspecting Internet users to a fake Web site by using an authentic-looking e-mail in an attempt to steal passwords, account information or other sensitive data.
At this time, we know that fraudulent e-mails are being sent to some domain name customers, regardless who the registrar of record is, which include links to sites that look like networksolutions.com or other domain provider sites; however they are fake Web sites. These e-mails are attempting to capture login information. For more information and tips on identifying phishing scams, please visit our blog at http://www.blog.networksolutions.com/.
If you believe you have received an e-mail of this type, have clicked on the link, and provided your login information, we recommend the following for security
purposes:
1. Log in to your account from the Network Solutions Web site.
2. Review your account information for accuracy
3. Choose a new password security question and answer 4. Change your password
Thank you for your attention to this message.
Sincerely,
Network Solutions(R) Customer Support»
Un saludo,
Miguel A. Mata
#4. Jorge Campanillas Ciaurriz, 2 months and 5 days ago
Buenas Miguel Angel!
Muchas gracias por la información! desde luego está siendo una oleada fuerte de este tipo de e-mails...
Write a comment
If you want to add your comment on this post, simply fill out the next form:
* Required fields
You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>.
No trackbacks
To notify a mention on this post in your blog, enable automated notification (Options > Discussion in WordPress) or specify this trackback url: http://www.iurismatica.com/blog/intento-de-fraude-a-los-titulares-de-nombres-de-dominio/trackback/